# MOUNT ALLISON UNIVERSITY MEETING OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE

September 10, 2024, 4:00pm Windsor Grand Room & Microsoft Teams (hybrid format)

Present: M. Ahmady, B. Annear, F. Antonelli, Y. Bourgeois, C. Brett (Secretary), B. Broadbent, P. Brown, B. Clayton, R. Delaney, J. Devine, J. Dryden, C. Duguay, B. Evans, A. Fancy, A. Francis, L. Garnett, D. Hamilton, L.-D. Hamilton, M. Hamilton, C. Ionescu, R. Isnor (Vice-Chair), B. Jewett, N. Johnston, S. Law, A. LePage, C. MacDougall, R. Majithia, M. Maston, C. McLaughlin, V. Meli, L. Michaelis, K. Morse, A. Nurse, C. Pringle-Carver, B. Robertson, R. Rubin, V. St. Pierre, I. Sutherland (Chair), J. Tomes, N. Vogan, G. Waldron, B. Walters, W. Wilson

Guests: R. Gamm, J. Mullen, G. Sandala

Regrets: R. Bruening, G. Cruttwell, S. Fanning, M. Hashemi, R. Inglis, K. Souch, A. Wilson

01.09.10 Territorial Acknowledgement

I. Sutherland read the official territorial acknowledgment written by Elders and the Indigenous Advisory Circle as follows:

We would like to acknowledge that we are located within the territory of Mi'kma'ki, the unceded, ancestral territory of the Mi'kmaq. Our relationship and our privilege to live on this territory was agreed upon in the Peace and Friendship Treaties of 1752. Because of this treaty relationship it is to be acknowledged that we are all Treaty people and have a responsibility to respect this territory.

02.09.10 Approval of agenda

## Motion (B. Robertson/S. Law): that Senate adopt the agenda as presented.

Motion carried

03.09.10 Welcome

I. Sutherland welcomed Senators to the meeting and thanked everyone for their willingness to serve. Senators then introduced themselves and indicated the which constituencies they represent.

04.09.10 Consent Agenda (B. Robertson/R. Rubin)

- a. Approval of the minutes (May 9, 2024)
- b. Report from the Academic Integrity Committee

# **Approved without discussion**

05.09.10 Business arising from the minutes

No business arising.

06.09.10 Chair's remarks

The President summarized the main points in a pre-circulated written report, which outlined the President's priorities and gave updates organized by vice-presidential area. He said that he hoped to provide a written report to each meeting. He thanked the university committee for the welcome that he and his husband have received. He also welcomed the new Provost, R. IOrby vio

C. McLaughlin noted that the timeline did not include a launch period. I. Sutherland noted that the timeline is flexible, and time could be allocated to roll out if needed.

J. Dryden agreed with J. Devine that the document seemed ahead of its time. She also asked whether external consultants would pay sufficient attention to local circumstances, and how we can be sure that the consultants would be moving the process in the right direction. I. Sutherland answered that the consultants will be working for the university, with a mandate to advise but not to make decisions. The anticipated role of consultants would be to advise on future directions in higher education, to help build the consultation process, and to help analyze data.

K. Morse asked how the plan would be implemented and how feedback would occur. I Sutherland replied that implementation would be through the actions of the university, with governance bodies like Senate holding administrators accountable.

V. Meli asked if external consultants would be able to comment on the accuracy of our internal evaluations of the university's strengths. I. Sutherland agreed that this is one role for external consultants.

#### **Committee on Students with Disabilities**

Owen Cole

Ainsley Atkinson

# **Academic Appeals Committee**

Kaite Souch

# Academic Matters (Curriculum and Academic) Committee

Kaite Souch

# **Academic Matters (Regulations) Committee**

Cole Sinclair

#### **Graduation Review Committee**

Rajan Minocha-McKenney Honorary Degrees Committee Chloe Dugay

## **Teaching and Learning Committee**

Kaite Souch

**Motion carried** 

## 10.09.10 Election to the Committee on Committees

C. Brett noted that a call for nominations to the Committee on Committees yielded one nomination, O. Griffiths, for two vacancies. I. Sutherland asked for further nominations from the floor. A. LePage asked if volunteering also meant agreeing to chair the committee. C. Brett answered that the committee selects its own chair. A. LePage then volunteered to join the committee.

This discussion led to the following motion.

Motion (C. Brett/ K. McLaughlin): that Senate elect Owen Griffiths and Anne LePage to the Committee on Committees, with a term beginning immediately and ending on June 30, 2027.

**Motion carried** 

11.09.10 Other Business

There was no other business.

12.09.10 Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:40 pm, as moved by V. St. Pierre.

Respectfully submitted,

Craig Brett

Secretary